Reading time: < 1 minute

In 2016, the new secondary school accountability system will take effect. The Progress 8 measure will therefore be introduced into all schools. Schools will also be able to opt-in to the Progress 8 measure one year early.

Progress 8 captures the progress a pupil makes from the end of primary school to the end of key stage 4 (KS4). Progress 8 is a type of value added measure, which means that pupils’ results at the end of KS4 are compared to the actual achievements of other pupils with the same prior attainment. Progress 8 will be used as the floor standard measure.

The Progress 8 factsheet summarises some of the changes that will be taking place:

  • The floor standard will be based on school’s results on the Progress 8 measure
  • Encourages a broad and balanced curriculum
  • No longer a key threshold for each subject
  • English, maths and three other EBacc subjects
  • Three further subjects, either from a range of EBacc subjects or any other approved high value arts, academic, or vocational qualification
  • English and maths will be double-weighted
  • It is not compulsory for a pupil to take 8 subjects.
  • The number of qualifications a pupil will sit is a professional judgement based on the needs of the individual
  • Progress 8 score determined by dividing points total by 10, regardless of how many qualifications the pupil sits

Useful resources:

Progress 8 factsheet

DfE update on Progress 8

Progress 8 school performance measure

Eligible EBacc qualification list

Eligible tech level qualification list

Featured image courtesy of David Hawgood.